News from NORLA

Norwegian playwright Jon Fosse introduced for Chinese readers

For the first time, Norwegian playwright Jon Fosse’s works have been translated into Chinese.
The milestone was marked by the international Jon Fosse festival (Fosse’s Blossoms) in Shanghai in November, staging five of his plays from five different countries – Russia, India, Italy, Iran and China.

The book now published is a collection of five masterpieces of Norwegian writer Jon Fosse’s dramas: Someone Is Going To Come, Death Variations, A Summer’s Day, The Guitar Man, and The Name.

The plays are translated by Ms. Lulu Zou at Shanghai Translation Publishing House, with grants from among other the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Beijing and the Royal Norwegian Consulate General in Shanghai.

– The first time I read a text by Jon Fosse, he touched the deepest, saddest and the most distant secrets I had. Actually, he changed my life, admits translator Ms. Lulu Zou.

The publishing house is hoping to publish a second and third volume in the next couple of years, perhaps also Jon Fosse’s poetry and essays. The translator has already started translating the second volume, at present containing the plays Draum om høsten, Eg er vinden, Natta syng sine songar, Og aldri skal vi skiljast.

Read more about the launch of Jon Fosse in China here.

Read more about the book here.

Read more about the theatre performances of Fosse’s plays in China here.

Books from Norway provides you with English-language information about all genres of Norwegian literature. The information is provided by the rightsholders and NORLA.

Norway as Guest of Honour at Frankfurter Buchmesse

Norway was Guest of Honour at the Frankfurter Buchmesse 2019. Please visit our website for information about the project.

Frankfurt 2019