Gunnhild Øyehaug

Present Tense Machine

Presens Maskin

Present Tense Machine introduces us to the mother and daughter Anna and Laura. In one startling second, the world splits into parallel universes at one point in the 1990s. Anna and Laura are pulled into separate universes. Twentyone years later, life has gone on as if nothing happened, but in each of the women’s lives, something’s not quite right.
Present Tense Machine is a novel about life’s irreparable loneliness. And about love.

Nominated for the Youth’s Critics’ Prize 2018

Øyehaug presens maskin

“After numerous essays, short stories, poems and three novels, Gunnhild Øyehaug emerges as one of the country’s smartest, coolest writers.”


“Gunnhild Øyehaug makes fiction great again. A triumph of the imagination. Luminous and masterful. A beautiful novel about loss, loneliness and community.”

Dagbladet, 5 out of 6 stars

“A novel that expands the mind.”

Bergens Tidende, 5 out of 6 stars
Øyehaug, gunnhild photo rolf m. aagaard gyldendal agency web
Photo: Rolf M. Aagaard

Gunnhild Øyehaug (b. 1975) is a highly awarded author, essayist and literary critic. She made her debut with the poetry collection Slave of the Blueberry in 1998, but got her major breakthrough with Wait, Blink (2008). She has received several awards through her authorship, such as the Dobloug Prize (2009), the Hunger Prize (2009) and Prins Eugene’s Culture Prize (2010).