H. L. Phoenix

Arkin - Guardian of the Light. Book 1: The Secret / Book 2 - The Hope

Arkin - Lysets vokter. Bok 1: Hemmeligheten / Bok 2: Håpet

A beautiful portal fantasy series where dreams come true, where loneliness and longing save lives, and where the smallest person casts the biggest shadow!
A stunningly illustrated epic for children and adults ages 9 and up.

Arkin is a lonely and anxious boy who has always felt different from everyone else. But Arkin is also smart, and strangely talented in drawing. It’s been eight months since he lost his mother, and the void she left behind is about to devour him completely.

Everything changes the day a mysterious elderly caretaker at the school leaves an even more mysterious riddle to him. As he solves the riddle, a magical world unravels before him …

This book series is captivating, beautiful, touching, warm and peculiar; filled to the brim with all the ingredients that a proper epic should possess!
Book 1: Arkin, The Guardian of the Light – The Secret is the first book of four in the series about Arkin.

Book 2 in the series, The Hope, picks up where we left off. When Arkin pets Melion Layt, he’s quite literally «shocked»; the panther doesn’t seem to be any ordinary creature. He tells Arkin he is a so-called «elemental» – a being made of pure energy. Arkin gets on his back, and they start flying towards Hevádriel.

Phoenix arkin kollasj
Phoenix, h l photo mariannewahlberg
Photo: Marianne Wåhlberg

H. L. Phoenix (1982) has always loved drawing, creating and making up stories, and through an illustrated book series he is happy to combine these passions. He is particularly enthusiastic about stories that contain magic, fantasy and epic events, and he enjoys imagining new worlds.

“I love the battle between good and evil, especially when that battle takes place in ourselves …” says author H. L. Phoenix