Kjersti Anfinnsen

The Last Signs of Love / Moments for Eternity

De siste kjærtegn / Øyeblikk for evigheten

Two life-affirming novels about love, death and the loneliness of life.

The Last Signs of Love
Birgitte Solheim has grown so old that all her friends are dead. Frail and alone, she spends most of her time in her apartment in Paris, where she is trapped by physical decline and memories of a long life lived. She has had a demanding career as a heart surgeon in an environment dominated by men, and having a family has never been a priority. Birgitte is a sharp, witty character who is attempting to reconcile her life while taking a final glimpse at people and the world. In spite of her lifetime of wisdom and experience, she refuses to give up on her dream of love.
Awarded the “Havmann” Prize 2020 | “Book of the Year” by subjekt.no

Moments for Eternity
In Birgitte’s experience, love becomes no less demanding even once she reaches ninety. Her life with and feelings for her partner Javiér are just as vivid, even if she is trapped and isolated by physical decline. Her world is limited to the four walls of her home and her daily walk, with little joys and a lot of darkness. Birgitte uncompromisingly reflects on life’s worst moments and what remains with her of loss, grief and bereavement in a world that seems more and more alien to her.

Nominated for the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) 2022

Anfinnsen tittelkollasj

‘(…) a bitter and painful, but wonderful novel about a couple marked by aging, decline and death – yes, wonderful! Author Kjersti Anfinnsen, 46 years young, extends a hand to the elderly and humanises our experiences. In doing so, she creates an emotional and mental bond between the generations.’

Sissel Gran - on "Moments of Eternity"
Anfinnsen, kjersti photo marius fiskum
Photo: Marius Fiskum

Kjersti Anfinnsen was born in 1975 and lives in Oslo. She took a creative writing course at the Tromsø Academy of Contemporary Art and works as a dentist.
The last Signs of Love is her second book.